Mantrums: The Sequel

I saw yet another mantrum this week! I was getting a few things from the grocery store and was in the express checkout lane. There was a man ahead of me in line, that while getting a free candy bar with the purchase of something particular he had, went on a rant to the cashier about food stamps and said something about himself being white (I couldn’t hear that part).

When it was my turn to check out, I asked the cashier how her day was going, she apologized for the gentleman that was on a rant. I said that I was fine, but asked if she was okay after dealing with that.

She told me that she has two special needs children and she is on food stamps herself, so while she was offended by what she was saying, she kept working to do her job.  I expressed that not everyone feels the way that man does, and thanked her for her good work at the store.

She was a kind woman, and did not deserve to be treated like that. She was simply doing her job.

Leave a Reply

